Skip navigation links
About
Building Code
Environmental Protection
Forms
Regulated Businesses
I Want To...
Skip navigation links
Central Examining Boards
How to Select a Contractor
Helpful Tips: Contractors
How to Cancel a Contract
Unlicensed Contractors
Know The Law
Reporting Unlicensed Activity
Formal Addendums and Interpretations
Helpful Tips: Contractors


Regulated Businesses

  • Avoid any contractor who requires large advance payments.

  • Arrange to pay the contractor after the work is completed and according to a payment schedule.

  • The payments should reflect approximately the work that has been done. Avoid paying cash. Payment by check will be a record of your payment.

  • Make all payments by check to the company contracted to do the work, not to "cash" or a person's name.

  • Do not sign a completion certificate unless all work is completed to your satisfaction according to contract and an approved, final inspection has been performed by one of our qualified inspectors (unincorporated areas) or by your jurisdictional building department.

  • If your contract exceeds $2,500, a Notice of Commencement must be filed by the homeowner or contractor. Failure to record a Notice of Commencement may result in you paying twice for improvements to your property. If you intend to get financing, consult with your lender or an attorney before recording your Notice of Commencement. A recorded copy of the Notice of Commencement must be posted at the job site.

  • Get a statement that the contractor, subcontractor(s) and supplier(s) of materials will provide you with a notarized Release of Lien stating the contractor has paid all subcontractors and suppliers of materials for their services, up to any payment paid.

  • Get a statement that the contractor will get all necessary building permits, and whether the contract amount includes the cost of permits or if it will be charged separately.

  • If the contractor is paid more than 10% of the contract price at the time of signing, the contractor must apply for all permits within 30 days of receiving the funds. Work must be started within 90 days after all permits are obtained.


Consumer Resources

Broward County Code of Ordinances: Chapter 9: Contractors
Broward County Consumer Protection Code
Consumer Complaint Forms
Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
Federal Trade Commission
Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation (DBPR)
Florida Division of Consumer Services

File a Consumer Complaint Find a Licensed Contractor


Switch to Full Site   | Terms of use
Official Mobile Website of Broward County, Florida
The version of this site is best viewed on a mobile device.